Exploring the Various Stages of Gambling Addiction

No matter what stage of addiction you’re in, gambling disease can bring strife to your life.

Gambling can be an enjoyable activity or perhaps a passion for a particular occasion. However, if it turns out to be something you feel compelled to do, you may have entered the realm of gambling addiction.

Knowing the warning signs and phases of gambling disorder will help you determine if you or a loved one is suffering from the addiction.

The Stages of Gambling Addiction

keenan constance VTLcvV6UVaI unsplash 300x200 - Exploring the Various Stages of Gambling Addiction

Below are the identified stages of addiction in gambling:

First Stage: The Winning Period

A significant victory frequently kicks off the winning period, producing excitement and a good attitude toward gambling. Problem gamblers feel they have a special gift for the game and that they will continue to win.

Second Stage: The Losing Point

Problem gamblers grow increasingly obsessed with the game. They begin gambling alone, borrowing money, skipping work, lying to family and friends, and defaulting on debts. They also start chasing after their losses.

Third Stage: The Desperation Degree

Gamblers with a problem may not control their behavior. After gambling, they feel regretful and guilty, yet they are unable to quit. To fund their addiction, chances are they cheat or steal.

Fourth Stage: The Hopeless Side

Problem gamblers reach rock bottom during the hopeless period. They don’t think there’s someone who cares or that assistance is attainable. They are unconcerned about whether they continue living or not.